Go watch Robocop!

As the evening grew dark, and snow continued to fall in South Western Ohio, my wife and I ventured out into the storm. It was Friday evening, and Valentines Day at that. The winter storm wasn’t going to hamper our fun, and my Jeep was all ready to tackle the un-plowed roads.

We ventured down toward the highway, and the jeep dug into the slushy snow mix left by the salt trucks, desperately battling the last in a series of heavy snowfalls. I pointed out where a car had slid down the embankment only a few days previously on my way to work. We talked about how hard the winter had been so far, how cold it was, and how much snow had fallen. We entered the highway and crawled along at a steady 40 mph with the rest of the traffic, while reminiscing previous Valentines day’s together. We left the highway exit, and rolled on down to The Streets of West Chester, where a big blue truck was doing its best to keep the AMC Cinemas parking lot clear for the movie goers and sweet hearts to enjoy their evening.

We parked up the Jeep, and headed into the movie theater to buy our tickets. We bought some popcorn and a big blue slushee, and headed into our theater room. We watched all the trailers for the exciting up and coming movies for the year. Then our film started.

I was a bit nervous about how good Robocop would be. I’m not one for remakes. I prefer originals. But I must say I was very impressed. I realized immediately why there were only two showings of this film at this theater, and why critics had been so hard on it. The film takes on a very libertarian mindset, and bashes heavily on the mainstream media.

Unlike the original Robocop, this film is not anti capitalist. This film depicts the future in which drones are still used overseas, and the mainstream media is still corrupt and used for corporatist interests. The film shows the struggle between a corrupt CEO and his paid off congressmen who are being used to strike down a law that prevents the use of drones and machines on American soil. Sound familiar?

The film was action packed, and very heart warming. It showed that human interaction is far superior to machines, and that even though we should use machines to our daily advantage, we should always be in charge of them, and not vis-versa.

When the movie concluded my wife and I turned to each other and remarked at what a great movie it was. When the credits ended we got up and headed out across the street to Bravo’s where I had reservations. The big blue truck was still trying to keep up with the snowfall, and was doing a good job of clearing a path for the few lovebirds who had dared to venture out into the wintery abyss. We entered the restaurant and were seated immediately due to the various cancellations.

robocop 1

As we sat down, we people watched, and we pointed out to each other who were first date couples and who were long term married couples. We discussed the movie, its liberty mindset, and the direction movies are currently heading in. We discussed the state of the nation, and our plans for the future, all the while eating our delicious meals and reminiscing on our past.

When we had finished our meals, we headed back out into the frozen tundra, and I fired up the Jeep to the sounds of the beach boys ‘Kokomo’ as we rolled out through the snow back home.

Sometimes the greatest adventures come when they are least expected, and when everything around you seems to be trying to stop you.

As for the new movie, go watch Robocop! You won’t be disappointed!

robocop_poster_p_2013

Published by

Paul Townsend

Paul is a freelance writer who grew up in the UK and became an American citizen.

4 thoughts on “Go watch Robocop!”

  1. Gross. But if you still have a gmail, supporting Samual eludes the whole picture. The ideal superseeds the ideological idea. Turning away from the whole picture is toxic to most. They love 2/3rds of it and the rest they’ll ignore. The greater good begets what they (you) dislike

    Pat Novack? Samuel Jackson? Your strattleing the line. Your young. And, you follow in anothers footsteps. I wish that wasn’t. See me in 10 years. Prodding for the masses to support anything with a dirtbag like him in it screams of a confused individual. You should know better. Your love of something close blinds you to those who are on the outside looking in. When Jackson called me a heretic as an NRA member, My head exploded. Quit being so squisy for hollywood just because you agree with the premise. It’s those that portray your love affair, that you need to abandon. They are clear, so should you be.

    1. Err….what? I take it you haven’t seen the movie. Samuel Jackson plays one of the bad guys. The movie is an excellent portrayal of corruption, bias media and special interests. I don’t love Hollywood. I do pay attention to it though, and they all but ignored this one. I do wish you’d stop making incorrect assumptions based on my age.

      1. I do wish you’d make incorrect assumptions based on your portrayal of right. No matter the actor.
        The movie is a good potrayal of of corruption no matter the blasphame. Your age (experience) makes a difference. You’ll know that later. Don’t be so sensitive.

      2. What are you talking about? I like movies in general. I don’t care who the actors are. I’m not going to stop watching star wars because Samuel L Jackson is in it. I’m not going to boycott a hobby I like because most of Hollywood sucks. It was a good movie and it shows that the industry is changing with the times because the progressive BS doesn’t sell. And for the record I’m an NRA member too, and I’m not sensitive to an actors political BS, especially when he’s playing the bad guy!

Leave a comment