Hollywood has to change

One of my friend’s and I recently got into a heated discussion about the new RoboCop movie, and she was basically saying that I shouldn’t be watching anything from the progressives in Hollywood. While I agree with her in theory, I still love to watch blockbusters, especially when they are libertarian minded.

The truth is, the progressive side of Hollywood is dying. Oh sure you still get a lot of Hollywood blowhards lapping up the communist liberal agenda, but these fools are now mostly ignored. What really shows is the actual movies being made.

hollywood-sign

Even though Hollywood tough guys like Arnold Schwarzenegger and Sylvester Stallone are personally anti gun, their movies depict the exact opposite of this, and that is what people take away from them. These two super star actors rose to fame during the unapologetic 80’s. Their movies are cheesy and their acting is terrible, but we still love the tough guy image they portray in them.

During the 90’s and early 2000’s we saw a lot of soppy liberal apologetic movies, and none were all that successful. It’s only since the new superhero movies such as Iron Man, Captain America and the Avengers have come out, that movies are becoming true block busters again. Rebellious movies such as Pirates of the Caribbean smashed the box office charts, while true unapologetic franchises such as the Dark Knight Rises rewrote the way Hollywood movies are made.

hollywood 5

We are entering once again into an unapologetic era of hard hitting action hero movies, where freedom and independence shine through. The liberal Hollywood elitists cannot make their soppy movies without the hard hitting movies to rake in the cash. I suppose this is where my friend referred to me as an enabler. But what I have to say is that none of these soppy movies will be around for long, because for just a few hundred dollars and a good eye, I can make my own half decent movie and feature it on YouTube for free. Hollywood cannot compete with that unless they make good solid movies. And with the Disney owned Star Wars franchise getting ready to make the next set of movies, the bar will really be raised to the top.

Hollywood will have no choice but to change with the times, or get utterly destroyed by its own arrogant stupidity. And personally, I’ll watch a good indie movie any day over a Hollywood movie.

Published by

Paul Townsend

Paul is a freelance writer who grew up in the UK and became an American citizen.

4 thoughts on “Hollywood has to change”

  1. Your friend is good and on the right side of right. She’s obviously passionate and a bit freaked out and loves to test the grade. She knows who you are and loves you. Unconditionally! She’ll continue to say anything. It’s how she learns…and jerks your chain!
    Happy 5th Anniversary! Tea Party and Paul.
    I could not be prouder of you and your soul even though you baffle me. Lets call it a push…for today!

    1. My friend drives me crazy sometimes, but her comments are passionate and they make me think, which is invaluable. Happy Anniversary to the Tea Party! Did you know I was at the very first one in Cincinnati with Brooke taking pictures? Fun times!

  2. Pingback: celebrity news

Leave a comment